Congress of the United States Washington, DC 20515

May 18, 2020

The Honorable Steven T. Mnuchin Secretary of the Treasury United States Department of the Treasury 1500 Pennsylvania Ave, NW Washington, D.C. 20220

Dear Secretary Mnuchin,

Thank you for the Treasury Department's March announcement to delay the federal excise tax filing and payment due dates for beverage alcohol for 90 days. We write to respectfully ask you to again use your authority under 26 U.S.C. 7508A(a) to delay all domestic beer, wine, and distilled spirits federal excise tax deadlines for the remainder of calendar year 2020, including any interest and penalties accrued.

As you know, producers pay the federal excise tax on a semimonthly, quarterly, or annual basis, depending on the quantity of beer, wine, or distilled spirits produced. By delaying payment of the federal excise tax for the remainder of calendar year 2020, you can provide immediate liquidity to alcoholic beverage producers around the country while also ensuring that the liabilities are paid back when the economy is more stable.

Today, the alcohol industry's workers, supply chain, and consumers face unprecedented levels of disruption and uncertainty due to the COVID-19 health crisis. From farmers and truck drivers to restaurant workers and consumers, the alcohol beverage industry is inextricably linked to every facet of the American economy. The industry also heavily relies on sectors that are some of the most severely impacted today, including hospitality, restaurant, tourism, agriculture, and retail.

In total, the industry supports a workforce of more than 5.4 million people and generates more than half a trillion dollars to the American economy annually. But without appropriate temporary relief, hardworking Americans who depend on the beer, wine, and spirits industries to feed their families will struggle to make ends meet.

Thank you for your consideration of provided needed relief to the alcohol beverage industry. We look forward to hearing from you soon.

Sincerely,

Earl Blumenauer Member of Congress

Sail Blumenn

Tom Reed Member of Congress



Gun Wagu

Mike Quigley	Ann Wagner
Member of Congress	Member of Congress
Other signatories	
<u>/s/</u>	/s/
Pete Aguilar	Colin Allred
Member of Congress	Member of Congress
/s/	/s/
Jodey C. Arrington	Andy Barr
Member of Congress	Member of Congress
<u>/s/</u>	/s/
Joyce Beatty	Sanford D. Bishop, Jr.
Member of Congress	Member of Congress
/s/ Suzanne Bonamici	/s/
Suzanne Bonamici	Mike Bost
Member of Congress	Member of Congress
<u>/s/</u>	/s/
Brendan F. Boyle	Anthony Brindisi
Member of Congress	Member of Congress
<u>/s/</u>	<u>/s/</u>
Julia Brownley	Ken Buck
Member of Congress	Member of Congress
<u>/s/</u>	<u>/s/</u>
Ken Calvert	Tony Cárdenas
Member of Congress	Member of Congress
/s/	/s/
Steve Chabot	Ben Cline
Member of Congress	Member of Congress
/s/	/s/
Steve Cohen	Tom Cole
Member of Congress	Member of Congress

/s/	<u>/s/</u>
James Comer	J. Luis Correa
Member of Congress	Member of Congress
/s/	/s/
Jim Costa	TJ Cox
Member of Congress	Member of Congress
/s/	/s/
Angie Craig	Rick Crawford
Member of Congress	Member of Congress
/s/	/s/
Jason Crow	Joe Cunningham
Member of Congress	Member of Congress
/s/	/s/
Warren Davidson	Danny K. Davis
Member of Congress	Member of Congress
/s/	/s/
Rodney Davis	Peter A. DeFazio
Member of Congress	Member of Congress
/s/	/s/
Diana DeGette	Suzan K. DelBene
Member of Congress	Member of Congress
/s/	/s/
Scott DesJarlais	Mike Doyle
Member of Congress	Member of Congress
/s/	/s/
Tom Emmer	A. Drew Ferguson, IV
Member of Congress	Member of Congress
/s/	/s/
Brian Fitzpatrick	Russ Fulcher
Member of Congress	Member of Congress
/s/	<u>/s/</u>
John Garamendi	Bob Gibbs
Member of Congress	Member of Congress

<u>/s/</u>	/s/
Jimmy Gomez	Anthony Gonzalez
Member of Congress	Member of Congress
/s/	/s/
Josh Gottheimer	Sam Graves
Member of Congress	Member of Congress
/s/	/s/
Tom Graves	Brett Guthrie
Member of Congress	Member of Congress
/s/	/s/
Deb Haaland	Josh Harder
Member of Congress	Member of Congress
/s/	/s/
Brian Higgins	Jim Himes
Member of Congress	Member of Congress
/s/	/s/
George Holding	Chrissy Houlahan
Member of Congress	Member of Congress
/s/	/s/
Sheila Jackson Lee	Bill Johnson
Member of Congress	Member of Congress
/s/	/s/
David P. Joyce	John Joyce
Member of Congress	Member of Congress
/s/	/s/
John Katko	Mike Kelly
Member of Congress	Member of Congress
/s/	<u>/s/</u>
Derek Kilmer	Andy Kim
Member of Congress	Member of Congress
/s/	/s/
Ron Kind	Ann Kirkpatrick
Member of Congress	Member of Congress

<u>/s/</u>	/s/
Raja Krishnamoorthi	Ann McLane Kuster
Member of Congress	Member of Congress
/s/	/s/
Darin LaHood	Doug Lamborn
Member of Congress	Member of Congress
/s/	/s/
Al Lawson	Debbie Lesko
Member of Congress	Member of Congress
/s/	/s/
Ted W. Lieu	Billy Long
Member of Congress	Member of Congress
/s/	/s/
Alan Lowenthal	Blaine Luetkemeyer
Member of Congress	Member of Congress
/s/	/s/
Stephen Lynch	Kenny Marchant
Member of Congress	Member of Congress
/s/	/s/
Thomas Massie	Lucy McBath
Member of Congress	Member of Congress
/s/	/s/
Betty McCollum	James P. McGovern
Member of Congress	Member of Congress
/s/	/s/
Joseph D. Morelle	Joe Neguse
Member of Congress	Member of Congress
<u>/s/</u>	/s/
Dan Newhouse	Eleanor Holmes Norton
Member of Congress	Member of Congress
/s/	/s/
Devin Nunes	Ilhan Omar
Member of Congress	Member of Congress

/s/	/s/
Frank Pallone	Jimmy Panetta
Member of Congress	Member of Congress
/s/	/s/
Chris Pappas	Bill Pascrell, Jr.
Member of Congress	Member of Congress
/s/	/s/
Ed Perlmutter	Scott Perry
Member of Congress	Member of Congress
/s/	/s/
Phil Roe, M.D.	David Rouzer
Member of Congress	Member of Congress
/s/	/s/
John H. Rutherford	Linda T. Sanchez
Member of Congress	Member of Congress
/s/	/s/
Jan Schakowsky	Kurt Schrader
Member of Congress	Member of Congress
/s/	/s/
Mike Simpson	Albio Sires
Member of Congress	Member of Congress
/s/	/s/
Adrian Smith	Christopher H. Smith
Member of Congress	Member of Congress
/s/	/s/
Jason Smith	Darren Soto
Member of Congress	Member of Congress
/s/	<u>/s/</u>
Greg Stanton	Elise Stefanik
Member of Congress	Member of Congress
/s/	/s/
W. Gregory Steube	Steve Stivers
Member of Congress	Member of Congress

/s/	/s/
Eric Swalwell	Bennie G. Thompson
Member of Congress	Member of Congress
(S/	<u>/s/</u>
Glenn 'GT' Thompson	Scott Tipton
Member of Congress	Member of Congress
/s/	/s/
Xochitl Torres Small	Norma J. Torres
Member of Congress	Member of Congress
/s/	/s/
Michael R. Turner	Fred Upton
Member of Congress	Member of Congress
/s/	<u>/s/</u>
Jeff Van Drew	Nydia M. Velázquez
Member of Congress	Member of Congress
<u>/s/</u>	<u>/s/</u>
Greg Walden	Jackie Walorski
Member of Congress	Member of Congress
/s/	/s/
Peter Welch	Bruce Westerman
Member of Congress	Member of Congress
/s/	/s/
Roger Williams	Joe Wilson
Member of Congress	Member of Congress
/s/	/s/
Steve Womack	John Yarmuth
Member of Congress	Member of Congress
/s/	<u>/s/</u>
Ted S. Yoho, D.V.M.	Lee Zeldin
Member of Congress	Member of Congress
e e e e e e e e e e e e e e e e e e e	0

Cc: Mary G. Ryan, Acting Administrator for the Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau (TTB)